In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages

It is believed that nowadays people live longer compared to the past, which leads to an increasing elderly population in many countries. Whereas some people consider an ageing population to have some benefits, I strongly agree with those who believe that it has potential drawbacks for two main reasons. On the one hand, the ageing population will bring a positive perception towards the government. The longer people live, it higher the life expectancy number of the population. In other words, the government has the capacity and competency to look out for its citizens. The high number of elderly population will push the government to provide a proper healthcare infrastructure. For instance, a country without a proper healthcare system, will not have a large number of elderly people which indicates the country's inability to do their responsibility. In contrast, if a country has more elderly people, there will be an increasing ratio of dependency. Elder people are usually unproductive, and they are mostly almost retired or even no longer able to work. Therefore, they may not be able to fulfil their basic needs and the government must take over the responsibility. As a result, the government must pay more benefits, such as health care and pensions, to people who often no longer have the ability to contribute to the economy. Secondly, elder people are more reluctant to any kind of disease. Although many people live longer, they usually spend more years on disability because of health issues. With a lower immune system, a disease may spread faster and impact the whole community. For example, when COVID-19 was spreading, it was the elderly people who were impacted the most since it led to a complex health issues, causing a high number of deaths. In conclusion, although the high number of elderly people indicates a high life expectancy and may be the reason why a proper healthcare infrastructure is built, it has also increased the dependency ratio and created extra spending for the government. Therefore, I believe that the advantages of having more ageing population are outweighed by the disadvantages.