When we meet someone for the first time, we generally decide very quickly what kind of person we think they are and if we like them or not. Is this a good thing or bad thing?

When we meet someone for the first time, we generally often form quick judgements about their character whether person like them or not. This phenomenon has both positive and negative implications, influencing our social interactions in the various ways. It is a common idea that first impression is most important thing in the friendship or any relationship. Based on this, people tend to choose if they will keep in touch with someone on the first day. I firmly believe, this kind of behavior is not beneficial for any human being. This essay will address my thoughts on this topic and rationales. Firstly, person can misjudge someone and lose an opportunity to become great friends quickly. It is clear that not everyone feels comfortable showing their real personality when they just met. Moreover, it’s natural to take time to be close to someone and open up. For instance, I like to share an example one study of social relationships in college shows how much people get nervous when they meet new people on the first orientation day. The majority of students stated that they could not be sociable as much as they can usually do, that’s why person should not pick any person who want to be a friend only based on first impression. If any person have an open mind for everyone, he will get more chances to meet amazing people. Secondly, this tendency can give a bad reputation to person. If any person make assumptions too quickly about someone and decide the people with whom person want to hang out, people will think person is a very judgemental individual. This can make it way harder to become friends with someone later. For instance, people usually agree that it is difficult to be friendly toward someone who chose a friend group too soon in the early semester period because they feel that these people unfairly treat other person. It is positive for person to take time get to know someone. Furthermore, I want to conclude that the initial impression is not imperative as people think. If any person is willing to wait a bit more, the person have more opportunities to meet good people and protect reputation too.