As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that newspapers getting old-fashioned because of the wide-range usage of the internet. I completely agree with this claim since there are numerous news applications which can provide newsbreak immediately, also people prefer to keep track of news by their phones because they do not want to carry newspapers with them nowadays. Owing to the developments on the internet, there are several news websites and applications which can reveal news instantly, while newspapers can be published once a day. Thus, people use those kinds of internet -based sources rather than newspapers. For this reason, newspapers are getting unnecessary and dated. For example, Ipsos conducted a survey that highlighted there was a sharp decrease of 70% in newspaper sales in the USA in 2020 on account of the ubiquitous digital news apps. Furthermore, while people can already access any up-to-date news by their internet -connected mobile phones, they do not want to carry big newspapers. For instance, newspapers are too big and thick in Turkey, so people are not comfortable to carry them particularly in public transportation and crowded places. Instead of that, they use their mobile phones or tablets which are easy to carry and can show anything that they are curious about. In conclusion, this essay totally agrees with the argument which claims newspapers are so close to become extinct on account of the popularity of the internet. Because they cannot provide instant occurings, unlike internet -based sources. Additionally, published items especially newspapers are hard to carry, that's why individuals prefer small and light mobile phones can keep them posted by the internet.