It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sport or music and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician. discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people are of the opinion that individuals are born with talents such as sports and music. While some others think that through training, those without those skills can also learn and gain mastery of the skills. This essay will discuss both these points of view and argue in favour of the latter. On the one hand, it is obviously believed that certain individuals who are born with specific talents give them a natural advantage in areas such as sports and music. This can be seen in a child who can learn how to do something without any hassle in addition to the time needed to perfect the skill is very short compared to normal children. An example of a naturally born footballer is Lionel Messi who often gets the achievements compared to other players even though he trains less than Christiano Ronaldo who trains the most frequently. Individuals who have a superior talent, will gain success at ease at a very young age. On the other hand, there are those who argue that anyone can be taught to excel at sports or music through disciplined practice and proper training. They point to the fact that many successful athletes and musicians started with little or no natural talent but bent over backwards to hone their skills. For example, Michael Jordan practised and trained every single day in order that he could be accepted as the core team of the Chicago Bulls, after going through blood, sweat, and tears, he managed to become part of the team. In conclusion, while some people may indeed be born with certain talents, from my perspective, I believe that anyone can be taught to succeed with the right approach and hard work. Those without a particular skill should not be discouraged as perseverance is also a prominent important factor for long-term achievement.