Many people these days rely on traditional medicines rather than going to doctors. What are the causes? Is this a positive or negative development?

Despite a huge development of the medicine which has been going on during the last decades many people still do not trust it. Such people prefere to use traditional medicines than go to the doctor. Their behaviour may be caused by the fear as well as the lack of trust to the science and constitutes an example of negative development. Many people do not trust the science. As a result, they are scared to use the new forms of drugs or the medical treatment which they believe can have a negative impact on their health. A great example of such people are the anti-vaccine campaigners who claim that a vaccination can lead to either a death or a seriuos harm. Therefore, they are trying to avoid professional medicines in favour of the traditional one made of the natural ingredients which, unfortunately, are less effective. A lack of trust to the professional medicines is a serious problem in the nowadays world. The people who refuse a specialised treatment constitute a threat to both themselves and the rest of society. To illustrate this, I will use an exaplme of the promaganda of anti-vaccine campaigners that has been on the fore during the pandemy of COVID-19. Many people refuse to get vaccinated, consequently, not only endangering their life, but also others. In conclusion, the most significant causes of using traditional mediciles are the lack of trast to science as well as the fear of the new forms of drugs. Such a behaviour consititutes a serious threat to the whole society as it may endangered people like during the pandemy of COVID-19.