Food travels thousands of miles from farm to consumers. Some people believe we should buy food from local farmers to protect the environment and help the local business. Do advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Consumers receive food from distant countries, although a number of people argue that we should purchase food from domestic farmers to contribute to environmental protection and boost local businesses. This essay believes that the benefits of buying from local farmers outweigh the drawbacks because, although some countries have land limitations for producing enough food, by consuming organic foods they can preserve their health. The main disadvantage of consuming locally produced food is that it requires huge land to be cultivated, and unfortunately, many countries around the globe do not have that much land to grow sufficient food for their entire population; nevertheless, people in these countries rely on imports of food from other countries for the consumption. For example, the UAE does not have enough land to produce food for its people, so they are obliged to import foods from other countries. One benefit of consuming organic foods is that. They are healthy and pure, while no chemical substance is used to boost their production. On the other hand, it assists rural families whose livelihoods really depend on farming and can benefit from it. Additionally, organic food is cheaper compared to the foods that are imported from foreign countries. For instance, farmers are using traditional means of growing foods on their lands, which is healthier compared to industrialized crops or foods produced by machinery and chemical ingredients. In conclusion, food that arrives far from distant nations can be replaced by local alternatives because organic foods have health benefits such as purity. Farmers are not using any chemical substance to boost their production and contribution to local businesses; in addition to this, some states do not have sufficient land to grow foods, which seems that all people are not fortunate enough to consume food from local farmers.