Some people think that some type of criminals should not go to prison, instead they should do unpaid work in the community. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays criminal activities are becoming more and more common in our society. Someone might suggest that sentencing the lawbreaker to the prison is not the most efficent way of managing human resources, instead they should spend their time helping others. Im concerned that this is the best way of punishment that we have today. The first reason is that different countries around the globe are already facing the dificit of space in jails. It is a common problem for places with a large crime rate such as Mexico, where prisons are struggling to provide a decent condition for inmates. Its a known fact that most of the time prisoners do nothing but sit in their block cells, however, there are some activities that the lawbreaker must do during his dayly routine, which might include cooking, laundring laundry, sewing and so on. However, this activities are aimed to satisfy only prision’s needs by providing all of the resources for criminals using their own powers. It seems to be a good strategy at first, yet it do not bring any help for society itself, thats why sentencing people who committed felonies for community work are becoming more common practice due to the ineffectiveness of today’s prison system. There are different programs that provides the as called rehabilitation courses for the ones who decided to make the wrong turn in their lives by giving them an opportunity to do some community work for the good of society. This way they did not only get punished but also do something useful for the ones they tried to harm. A second reason comes from the concern that citizens who pay for the prisoners coexistence should get something in return. It is obvious that government can not provide all of the needed resources to the prisons without taxpayers. However in today’s reality there are significant lack of payback to the ones who actually support the criminals. What’s more, there is a common practice among the homeless people when they purposely commit a crime in order to get in jail to have a roof above their head, while that’s a quiet better alternative for them. From my perspective, In these cases forced community work is the only way to somehow satisfy the citizens who pay for the acts of those people. In conclusion, it is vital to provide feedback to society. It is also necessary to judge everyone with fair and deliver most suitable punishment for the lawbreaker actions.