Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

There is a phenomenon that some children spend lots of time on their smartphones, for example, they use it play online games, talk with other people on social media and so on. In my opinion, there are several factors contributing to this case, and this phenomenon is a both-side sword. There are several reasons for why children spend hours on their smartphones. One of the main reasons is that smartphones could satisfy the needs of different kinds of children. To be specific, for introverted children, they might feel exhausted and uneasy to communicate with each other either face to face or online, then smartphones provide a very clandestine space for them to stay in their comfort zone and do something that they like to do. Moreover, for extroverted children, smartphones could let them not only meet different new friends, but also communicate with friends more frequently, leading to cement their relationships. However, to my perspective, this development is both positive and negative, it depends on how children make use of smartphones. On the one hand, smartphones could benefit children. The reason is that there are almost all kinds of knowledge in the internet, in this case, when children is interested in some areas or have some questions about some things, they could use smartphones to learn more knowledge or ask some professionals online about that field, both of which could benefit the development of children. On the other hand, smartphones could have some drawbacks, due to all kinds of inaccurate information. To be specific, children might learn something wrong from the internet, such as violation and fraud, since this part of information might not be filtered, giving rise to the unhealthy mental health of children. In conclusion, smartphones could meet all kinds of people's needs is the main reason for this development. Although spending hours on smartphones both have advantages and disadvantages, in my opinion, if government strengthen the regulation of all the misinformation, then the advantages might outweigh the disadvantages.