These days, fooddays, food travels long distances before reaching consumers, and it is therefore believed that consuming locally grown food would bring about a number of economic and environmental benefits. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages ?

It has become a recent trend that food is transported long distances to consumers, which makes some people recognize the benefits of local products from both environmental and economic perspectives. The advantage of long transportation is to increase financial benefits for companies while there are some disadvantages as tracks and planes pollute the environment severely. The primary benefit of the distant delivery of food is to boost economical benefits as company transports products to a place where they are demanded. In other words, it will be more lucrative for businesses when their orders increase from distant regions, making it a valuable opportunity for them to spread their food. For instance, earnings of a fish company called Sash in Mie rose by nearly 30% since it started to deliver its unique food to the inland where the supply of marine products is extremely lower. Thus, the business turns out succeessful, meeting the various needs of people in different areas. The disadvantage of this phenomenon is the increasing damage to the environment as more transportations are used. Indeed, the contamination of air has become an emergent issue since it leads to an accelerating rise in global temperatures. To illustrate this, a temperature rises by about 1.5 degrees Celsius since the number of tracks delivering food to distant places increased dramatically in 2018. Therefore, the continuous reliance on long transportation will make the Earth a more hostile place to live for both animals and humans, which requires long periods of time for recovery. In conclusion, the benefits of long transportation encourages business to expand as it successfully meets the need of people in various places. However, people should be aware of a serious side effect as vehicles pollute nature beyond the control of humans.