These days, fooddays, food travels long distances before reaching consumers, and it is therefore believed that consuming locally grown food would bring about a number of economic and environmental benefits. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages ?

Nowadays, many nations are importing eatable commodities from other nations. However, a few people advocates that we must grow foods on our own soil, because it may bring economic and environmental benefits. This essay will try to delve into the pros and cons of this approach. To begin with, on the down side, local climate can affect growth of some crops. Indeed, at some places the weather conditions are not favourable for growing some crops. For example, Kiwi fruit is mainly cultivated in temperate zone region such as New Zealand. Thus, we cannot grow all types of food crops locally. On the other hand, if we can promote our local production, it can reduce inflation of everyday commodities. In fact, by growing crops locally governments can save out flow of money that they usually pay for imports. To illustrate, China imports less goods as compared to other countries and this is reason behind their economic prosperity. Moreover, by promoting crops grown locally, we can generate new employment opportunities. As a matter of fact, if we rely on local harvest, we need processing and storeage facilities to manage the production that directly lead to new job creation for locals. Hence, by doing so we give equal opportunities to the people of an area to grow as well. To sum up, undoubtedly, local climate is an important factor in cultivation of crops, but, the local production not only save money but also create new employments that is fruitful for a country in the long run.