Many people go through life doing work that they hate or have no talent for. Why does this happen? What are the consequences of this situation?

A growing number of people tend to work jobs they do not necessarily like or feel good at. This is mainly because they are afraid and unsure of change, or are heavily influenced by their family’s expectations in following a strict career path. There are a number of negative consequences of this situation, such as numerous psychological problems as well as job burnout. Firstly, working a certain job you don’t like or are specialised to do may be caused by not feeling like your situation could possibly change for the better. People tend to think materialistically, and making a shift to a different job position could be financially risky. This results in them staying at their current jobs, instead of aiming for one that maybe would not provide a comparably big salary and predictability, but would fulfil them. Secondly, it is not uncommon for families, especially wealthy ones, to put extra pressure on their children and expect them to follow a certain career. They hope for their sons or daughters to secure socially respected positions, such as doctors or lawyers. As a result, a choice is being taken away from them, thus pressuring and manipulating them to choose a job they despise or are not talented to do. There are two possible consequences of this phenomenon, both of which negatively affect human well-being. To start, one outcome would be developing a certain kind of overthinking and sadness, whichch could lead to severe depression. If a person does not have any motivation whatsoever to wake up every day and go to work, it is hard for them to find happiness and function properly. Another consequence would be experiencing job burnout. An increasingly common issue, making people feel like their work does not matter whatsoever, therefore causing unfulfillment and a sense of being useless. This could also result in decreased job efficiency, which, in terms of jobs that require precision and focus, could pose a serious risk. In conclusion, people often choose working a job they are not as skilled or excited for, because of a combination of fear and low self-confidence, as well as a will to fulfil their families’ expectations. As a result, they put themselves at risk of depression and burnout, consequently decreasing their mental health and putting their work quality in danger.