Some people think that countries should limit the amount of food that they import and mainly eat products from their own country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary world, importing food has been witnessed phenomenon. Some people argue that every nation needs to prioritize their local food instead of importing it from other countries. I do agree with the above statement, I believe through this action authorities can motivate their residents for more production which automatically enhances employment opportunities and reduces the final cost of the product. This essay will analyze the above argument along with examples. To begin with, reduction of the importing products not only increases the profitability of local businesses but also reduces the unemployment rate of the country. In other words, when the demand for products rises, then industries will definitely hire more people to fulfil the supply. Furthermore, the expansion of local enterprises, directly impacts the economic growth of the company because high profits mean high taxes to the government, which public officials can utilize for the overall development of any country. For instance, in 2022 China reduced its import percentage and started using locally produced items, and as a result, GDP of the China rose by 2.9% and the employment rate increased by almost 3.8%. Moreover, imported products always boost the expenses of customers but this can be reduced by using country -made items. To explain, when any part of the world, purchased goods from their neighbourhood they paid import taxes throughout the process, which raised the final cost of the products. Although it is possible to grow most of these items in their own country, still some nations avoid investing public taxes for better inventions. For example, even though Indian farmers can easily grow strawberries on their farms, it is imported from Switzerland and that is the reason for their high cost. However, consumers can avoid these extra charges just by giving priority to the country farmers. To conclude, I believe the use of locally produced items not only expands the chance of occupation for job seekers, but it will ensure the overall economic growth of every nation by raising the profits of businesses and reducing the expenses of buyers.