The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree?

As an adult, we spent most of our time at work. In view of this, some employees expressed their expectation in a curtailed working week and a longer weekend instead. Personally, it is my contention that a shorter working week and a longer holiday will bring merits as it helps people to maintain work -life balance, resulting in raising their energy as well as passion at work. First and foremost, a prolonged weekend can allow workers to take enough rest, hence, preserve energy that help better prepare for the job to do at work. In order to finish our job perfectly, we need to put plenty of effort into it. However, one’s energy is limited. We won’t be energized all the time. Given this situation, rest becomes a vital element in our lives to help us charge ourselves. In Hong Kong, statistics often show that most of the employees can’t get a good rest because of the heavy workload during the working week. Thus, it is believed that the weekdays can be shorter and holidays can be extended, it can benefit an individual in preserving energy and contribute to a better result at work. In addition, a curtailed working week and a extended weekend allow the workers to feel that they are precious by the company and raise their passion at work. From the mental perspective, for example, according to some interviews, it is founded that employees, especially teachers have expressed their need to have more breaks. Not only do they need to work in office time on workdays, but there are follow-thoughts. Hence, if more holidays can be provided and the working week can be lessened, in other words, their voices and needs are listened to and fulfilled, they may be more willing to engage in work. It helps to evoke their sense of belonging to the company and build a high level of job satisfaction. They will put more passion at work consequently. To sum up, owing to the above reasons, we can see how a lessened working week and a longer weekend can bring positive influences to a person considerably. It is therefore obvious that it is indispensable to make such a change.