In many countries, the government prioritises economic growth above all other concerns. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

In many countries, the government emphasizes economic development above all other needs of people. The benefits of prioritizing economic development are they increase the income of people, and people can meet all their basic needs. The drawbacks are other sectors of a country get neglected, and some people earn unnecessarily. One of the benefits of economic growth is it increases the yearly income of people. If a country is economically rich, people from there can earn a satisfactory salary. Moreover, in an economically developed country, the price of all basic necessities is affordable. Therefore, people can afford all their daily needs within a certain budget, which eliminates discrimination between rich and poor. For instance, Australia is economically rich, and here rich and poor people can easily meet all their basic needs easily within a very affordable price. One of the drawbacks of prioritising economic development is other important sectors of a country do not get proper attention from the government. Education, employment, healthcare, and infrastructure experience negligence, which is detrimental to a country. In addition, through economic growth, some people earn unnecessary income. They become richer, compared to the middle-class and working-class people of a country. For example, after economic development in Bangladesh, rich people of this country became richer, which illustrates a huge gap in the earnings of the whole nation. In conclusion, emphasizing economic growth increases income, and makes basic needs accessible. However, the other important sectors get neglected, and some people become richer.