You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Some say that nowadays writing letters is obsolete due to existence of modern means of communication. I agree with this statement as the latter is more convenient and available in every far-flung part of the world. Up-to-date information delivery services overcome old-fashioned paper communication in convenience, as they are faster and easier to use. It takes a lot of time for the letter to be delivered to its destination, in some cases it might take months. In contrary, a phone call or a message if the internet is available on both sides, for example, is connecting both sides of the conversation instantly. Letters are also harder to send as they require a properly signed address, then the sender has to go to post office and pay for a delivery service and there is no guarantee it will reach the recipient. Modern communications lack these complicated processes and only require a device with a connection to a world wide network. Another reason why I think letters are being replaced with new communication methods is the latter often functions where letters cannot be delivered. The modern world offers full coverage of the planet, which is used for information exchange. For example, there are internet cables connecting every piece of land together and where it was impossible to place a wire, satellites are used to transfer messages. Letters are bounded to post offices functioning ranges and don’t offer the same wide coverage. In conclusion, I agree that modern communications push away written letters as they support instant connection between parties of the conversation as well as they are simpler to utilize. In addition, they are also ubiquitous, connecting every part of the world.