Most people pay taxes to contribute to the development of their country, however, some think they have other responsibilities rather than paying taxes. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

It is argued that most people pay taxes to contribute to their country's development while others believe that the public have other responsibilities besides paying taxes. Even though taxes are one of the key elements of public income which are spend for development, I agree with the latter idea because people also need to contribute their capabilities to develop their state by supervising the government. Most of national budget comes from the taxpayer money, due to the fact that most development projects rely on public spending, taxes are crucial for development. Moreover, when they are required to pay significant amount of taxes, they feel that they are already contribute significantly to the public. For example, research found that the level of development in countries with high income taxes are generally higher than the countries with low income taxes. However, a high number of tax income is only able to develop a country if the government could use it properly. Without a competent and credible government, the public could not experience proper development projects properly. Therefore, it is also the public's responsibility to make sure their government are spending their money wisely for development. That is to say, it is crucial for the people to have the capacity to supervise and critique their government in order to achieve the expected level of development. For instance, a lot of research found that countries with high levels of development tend to also have high levels of public participation and civic engagement compared to countries with lower levels of development. To conclude, while many people believe that by paying taxes they already contribute to their country's development, I believe that they also need to supervise and participate in different kinds of civic engagement in order to make sure their government develop their country properly with their tax money.