Some people feel that high school students should only learn literature from their own country, while others feel that they should be exposed to literature from around the world. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people think that high school students must only study the literary works from the country they come from whereas others argue that it is crucial for students to also acknowledge literature from around the world. Although both literature are equally important, I stand with the latter view because learning various literature, not limited to a particular country, will provide more knowledge for the students. On the one hand, learning local literature should be mandatory for students because not only it is a part of the curriculum, it also means that students, who are part of the future generations, help to preserve the culture, as many local literature came from cultural heritage. For instance, some public universities in Indonesia offer local literature study programs, such as Batak literature and Javanese literature, with the aim to maintain the value and literary knowledge of tribes in Indonesia. As a result, it is important to study local literature because it maintains the culture. On the other hand, learning about literature from other country also benefits the students where they get to know the history of some notable events in the world. Moreover, this also develop global knowledge of the students. For example, students from international schools in Indonesia are more exposed to international literature and they are more rich in terms of the knowledge of historical events from all over the world. Therefore, the study of literature should cover international ones to give the students exposure about the world. In conclusion, while some suggest that students should limit their literature knowledge to only one country, I believe that students need to get exposed to another countries' literature because it helps them to learn about global historical events.