Some people think certain prisoner should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind the bars. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

It is a topic of great debate that whether the judiciary should give corporal punishment to the criminals or they can ask them to do community service instead. In my opinion, former view is more persuasive, as the desired results are difficult to achieve if we choose the latter approach and reasons to support my stance are elaborated in the following paragraphs. To begin with, people who advocate that unpaid community work is an effective way assert that this way could change the criminal psychology and it can encourage them to become an ideal citizens. However, I do not think that this idea has any practical value, whereas, imprisonment is an effective way to achieve desired outcome by giving prisoners time to introspect their past mistakes. On the other hand, those who opine that corporal punishments are right assert that we cannot let go criminal, who did heinous crimes such as murders, robberies etc. In fact, habitual offenders are a threat to the societal peace and law should not allow them to get away easily. To illustrate, in 2024 in Pune,India a minor was accused of murder of two people, when he hit their motorbike with his car that he was driving. Thus, in such incidents one must be prosecuted. Adding more to it, if we set criminals free by just doing community service it will send a wrong message to the society. Indeed, it will encourage people to commit crimes and get away with them. For example, a few European countries have tried this as a pilot project, but instead of reduction in crimes, there was a surge in the crime rate. Hence, corporal punishments are the ideal way to control crimes. To sum up, undoubtedly, we can consider community services for less heinous crimes but when it comes to serious crimes the law must not let criminals get away easily to protect society and send a strong message in to Join the words into show examples the community.