In many professional sports, there is an increase in the number of athletes using banned substances to improve their performance. What are the causes of the phenomenon and what are some of the possible solutions?

There are lots of professional sports where a growing number of athletes use several types of banned substances to increase their result. I believe that they do it because they want to achieve the highest level in their field without giving their all. And one of the solutions is to completely disengage those kinds of athletes from any official competitions for a long period. I think the main point of this phenomenon is that sportsmen and sportswomen are interested in reaching the high level with the least amount of zeal. This behaviour is mostly because of people's laziness to achieve goals instead of hard work. People want to get fast results in the short term, but that is not how it works. To reach any goals, it needs to be sacrificed with time and a lot of work; however, those kinds of athletes do not understand it or do not want to make sacrifices. For example, bodybuilding, is all about discipline and sacrifices, and with this mindset, it takes much more time in comparison with using any banned and fast ways to bulk muscles like steroids. Now, let's talk about solutions. To protect cheating athletes from professional competitions, it needs to increase the level of lax testing systems. By improving lax testing systems, it will be more fair to athletes and sportswomen too. Because they do not have to compete with cheaters. It is well known that it can't be done in all competitions, especially small ones. But, at least, this mistake could be avoided from bigger stages. In conclusion, people are doing it as we are sad because they wish to get huge results in a short time, and the solution for this might be increasing the lax testing system and having huge consequences.