Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about how to go down accidents on roads. While some argue that punishing strictly drivers who drive carelessly is the most important factor to improve travellers’ safety, I still believe that there are other efficient methods to make our roads become safer. On the one hand, there are main reasons why it could be argued that strict punishments can be the most significant method to reduce accidents on roads. The first one is punishments scare drivers who break the law, even if accidents have not happened yet. For example, they still can be punished some days in jail and a large amount of money. If there is a serious accident by infraction or serious accidents, these drivers can be put in prison for months or years. Furthermore, that strict punishments can warn people who travel on roads need to follow traffic regulations or laws. If they cause accidents by carelessness or infractions, their future would might end up in prison. On the other hand, I believe that safe driving can be also promoted in many more effective ways than punishing drivers. Firstly, educating children in school and with their families about how to travel or drive safely. Children can learn good habits from their parents and school, and also they should learn how damage if drivers drive carelessly, consequently, serious accidents can be avoided from the very first stage. Moreover, governments should invest more in road infrastructure. For instance, in some reports last year, thousands cases of accidents were caused from light traffic systerms or potholes and barriers. In conclusion, while punishments can help in improving safety on roads, however, in my opinion, we should combine some other effective ways to improve road safety in a long term.