There was a time when people only shopped out of necessity, but these days shopping seems to have become a new form of leisure activity. People don't appreciate the value of money anymore. To what extent dou you agree with this view?

In the past, people only did shopping to fulfil their necessity. However, these days people use shopping as a favourite leisure activity. Some people believe that people do not accept the value of money anymore. I completely agree with this statement because today people do shopping to statisfy their pleasure, and they want to show their wealth to others. People want to get pleasure by doing shopping. Purchasing new things provide them with pleasure. They love to explore shopping malls in their spare times and buy new things. People purchase numerous unnecessary products which they do not need. This costs a huge amount of money to them. For example, in Australia, the young generation buys unnecessary clothing which they never wear. But those new items in their closet increase their pleasure. To gain this pleasure, they do this unnecessary shopping. Moreover, people want to show their materialistic wealth to others. It is a common trend that those who have more expensive staff, are respected by others in society. This trend makes people obsessed about shopping. The more they shop, the more they will be respected by others. For instance, people want to buy luxury cars and houses to show their rich lifestyle to others. They believe that their materialistic wealth makes themselves presentable in front of others. In conclusion, people love to shop more than the past because they earn pleasure from it. People consider it as a favourite pastime. Moreover, people also purchase unnecessary stuff because they want to show their richness to others.