In some countries young people are encouraged to work r travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In many parts of the world teenagers are asked to either travel or do a job after completing their school and before entering a professional course. This approach has a few pros and cons. This essay will try to delve into both the aspects. To begin with, on the positive side, this trend can give practical experience to the students of their abilities and drawbacks. Indeed, if a student is aware of his capabilities and limitations, he can choose his future options accordingly, because this gap gives them time to introspect and decide their future. To illustrate, Indian businessman Ratan Tata, worked in a motor workshop before joining the Tata Group just to make his mind that whether, he will be able handle the company or not. Thus, it is always fruitful to have some free time before choosing future professional studies. On the other hand, on the downside, this option could possibly cause students to leave their interest in studies. In fact, when pupil travel they may find this life more comfortable, as they are free from the burden of reading and homework. Moreover, when they work they start earing and this can play with their psychology, as a result, they could possibly opt not to study further. For example, according to a survey report, in the USA, one of the major reason behind college dropout students is that they started working before their higher studies, because they were earning some money from their jobs and they find studies useless. Hence, this approach could deviate students from their future goals. To sum up, undoubtedly, a job or travel before professional courses help students to have a first hand experience about their strengths and weaknesses, but, it could also hinder them from studying further, as they are earning without holding a professional degree.