Using mobile phones and computers, many people are not able to communicate face-to-face.

It is often believed that many people living today lack the ability to communicate face-to-face with their growing reliance on modern technology such as mobile phones and computers. I partially agree with this view, for their increasing time in isolation regardless of the fact that electric gadgets have made them more comfortable in expressing their views. On the one hand, continuous reliance on technology damages the interpersonal skills of many people as they are more separated from others. In other words, various services are provided by electric tools, which makes many young adults too satisfied to spend more time with others. For instance, students that I currently teach at high school seem to be so obsessed with playing online games and watching movies to avoid contact with others. When it comes to talking for a break, however, they only speak a few words, while barely making eye contacts, which makes their conversations awkward and confusing. On the other hand, reliance on electric gadgets facilitates people's communication in real life since they gain more confidence in expressing their personal feelings. Indeed, they are more likely to expose their private lives as they post their pictures and video clips on various SNS sites such as You-Tube and Instagram. This allows them to have communication skills that are essential in real life as they gain a wide range of vocabularies in various topics as well as more objective evaluations of themselves to impress others. Therefore, their reliance on technology does not necessarily inhibit their interpersonal skills as they express themselves in various ways. In conclusion, I somewhat agree that the use of mobile phones and computers negatively affects people's communication as they enjoy more solitary activities. However, their communication skills improve dramatically thanks to frequent opportunities to express themselves.