The number of overweight children in developed countries is increasing. Some people think this is due to problems such as the growing number of fast food outlets. Others believe that parents are to blame for not looking after their children’s health. To what extent do you agree with these views?

Childhood obesity is rising in first world nations at an unprecedented rate in recent times. Certain people argue that this issue is mainly due to consumption of junk food while others argue that this problem solely depends on the parents supervision and guidance. In this essay, I will discuss both views and will state my opinion. Firstly, the number of fast food restaurants in recent times have increased in number. The ability to compete for land and locate near institutions significantly increases the student traffic during lunch hours. Secondly, the increase in food prices, convenience and twenty four hours availablity have led to the preference of consuming this Western diet. In addition, schools don't teach students how to prepare a healthy meal or never include it as a life course for students. These factors together leads the children towards unhealthy diet consumption Fastfood restaurants cannot be totally blamed for this behavior. Parents in industrialized nations are busy with their work responsibilities on a daily basis, which leads to circumstances where children are left alone on their own to make decisions. The disposable income that is provided by parents to negotiate time and lack of time spent on educating children on consuming healthy food have lead this obestity epidemic. In conclusion, the problem cannot be totally pointed towards the fast food restaurants and parents also must held accountable for improving the overall health of these youngsters by guiding them towards a healthy diet by being an example themselves.