Some people believe that international sporting events are the ideal opportunity to show the world the qualities of the hosting nations. Others believe that these events are mainly a large unjustifiable expense. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Other people think that global sport events are ideal avenue to showcase globally the capabilities of the hosting nations. While other people oppose the idea of hosting, as it is mainly expensive. In this essay, I will discuss why I partially agree on the latter statement of waste of funds on the host country. On one hand, the host country will benefit from the opportunity to boost the economy. From the rise on number of tourists, athletes and spectaturs there will be circulation of money and goods. Additionally, the nation's wonders will be featured such as the beaches, islands, and other tourist spots. Aside from the natural wonders, there will also be promotion of people, culture and tradition. As a result, the country will attract more tourist and potential investors. But, this can be a gateway to environmental problems. Not every tourist have the social responsibility of taking care of the facilities and natural fauna of the place. On the other hand, the place who will host the sports events such as olympics will invest vastly on infrastructure. Additionally, aside from construction expenses, there will be overhead cost on labor. The investment will only be justifiable if the profit can supplement the capital loss spent on the event. Sadly, based on the previous hosting nations such as Brazil the facilities were wasted and the maintenance cost is another issue. For a third world countries it will be hard as to balance the economy and allocate budget for building domes. As a result, there were fewer countries who would volunteer to host Olympic events. Additionally, places who participate on hosting sports events faces problems of pollution such as waste disposal. The local government's budget is affected as they need to dispose the accumulated garbage collected from large number of people. In conclusion, although hosting huge sports events can stimulate the economy the cost it takes to establish facilities is too expensive and unjustifiable. On short term, there will be fluctuation on economy, but on the long run, there will be financial loss.