Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook, Zalo,...) have a negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that social networking sites such as Facebook or Instagram harm individuals and society. I strongly believe that it has a negative influence on people and society. Scrolling on networking sites over and over again can promote addictive conduct. Research explains that sites such as Facebook and Instagram are made to release serotonin. Furthermore, every time we click a like on these sites, this happiness hormone is released creating a sense of joy. Hence, individuals can become addicted to this feeling and make them non stop scrolling on these social media platforms. For example, a friend of mine while we are together cannot avoid taking a look at his social media. I tried once to take his mobile phone out of his sight and the outcome was surprising. My friend started being aggressive with me verbally, which was the crucial moment when I showed him how addicted he was to Instagram. Although people can be addicted to these social networking sites, there is another reason that this can deeply affect society negatively. Lives on these platforms show as perfect, always emphasizing the fun part of life. This sets a standard of how life should be for society, raising the number of individuals who have depression. In addition, the latest research shows that users of Facebook and Instagram have more probability of having depression because they compare the digital lives of others to ownself. For instance, a family member was scrolling for hours on social media and she seemed upset with the publications of others. Hence, over two months later she had to stop looking at social networking sites, which caused her a deep depression that needed therapy. To conclude, I deeply agree that social networking sites can affect negatively individuals and society causing addiction and depression.