In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

Nowadays, with developments in the medical science people are living a long life, as compared to the earlier days. However, this has given rise to a number of problems at an individual level and as well as for society. This essay will try to delve into the after effects of this trend and will try to propose a few solutions to this problem. To begin with, first and foremost issue, aged people have increased financial burden on guardians and governments. Indeed, old people generally, suffer from a number of health issues like Diabetes, Hypertension etc and in order to, take care of their overall well-being their families need extra money. Moreover, in many western countries, authorities give their senior citizens free medical and financial aids in the form of pension schemes, which ultimately is an extra burden on governments. Adding more to it, aged fellows may experience lonliness. In fact, these days, as to meet the basic family needs, usually, all the members of family do jobs and they stay out for many hours a day, which makes senior citizens emotionally vulnerable. Thus, they can find themselves in a left alone state. In order to, tackle these issues, first, governments must make it a law to have a health policy after a certain age, which will help to manage unavoidable medical emergencies. Secondly, old age homes and support groups can offer a help to provide assistance to the lonely old age individuals. To sum up, increased financial burden and lonliness are one of the the main drawbacks of increased life expectancy, but mandatory health policies and support groups can offer help to ameliorate these issues to some extent.