Task 2. Many old buildings protected by law are part of a nation’s history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by new ones. Do you agree or disagree?

In our modern world, there are still many old buldings protected by legal regulations due to their historical and traditional values. Opinions are divided on whether old buildings should be preserved or demolished to make room for new accommodations and commercial developments. I believe that these facilities should be preserved. In some areas where more housing is needed, many old structures should not be keeped as they are either lack interest or are dangerous. Not all old buildings have specifically architectural or historical values so they are neither valuable nor unique any way. Moreover, such buildings are dangerous, damp and therefore unsuitable for modern cities and should be replaced by new accomdations accommodation or multi-purpose facilities. These new developments will be more beneficial than the old ones they replaced. An additional benefit of building new accomodation is that in some cities, housing in the central areas is exorbitantly expensive, so new accomdations accommodation will reduce the living costs to ordinary people. However, maybe some old buildings are valueless, most of them are worth preserving for their historic and architectural interest. A good example of this in Viet Nam is the Long Bien bridge at Hanoi, despite being built over a century ago, it is still one of the most important bridge in Hanoi not only by its icon but also the commercial values. Another important building is Ho Chi Minh’s House in the center of Hanoi. This, although it may not be vital for its architecture, is of great value as a historic artefact for the local people. This structures should be preserved, regardless of the financial value of the land their lie on. In conclusion, old buildings play a crucial role in sustaining the cultural and historical values of a nation, so they should be preserved. While, developing modern facilites can provide financial benefit, we have to keep the balance between preserving historical buildings and accomdating urban growth.