Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In recent decades, a rising number of people with health problems refuse to seek help from a doctor and instead, prefer to use substitude treatments, such as herbal teas, for curing their health condition. This trend arises an important question: is this a negative or positive development? From my viewpoint, it is completely negative, having some potential dire consequences. Obviously, a wide range of health problems require professional diagnosis, as they might be serious problems, putting one's life in danger. Some people mistaken the symptomes of a dangeous health condition with a simple illness, so they avoid seeing a doctor. If these patient hesitate to get professional help, it might be too late for them. For example, an individual with cancer should start effective treatments, such as chemotherapy, as soon as possible to prevent expansion of the cancer cells. Trying alternative medication only wastes the valuable time. We should remember that health experts trained and studied for so many years to be able to diagnose and help us with our diseases. In some other cases, patients may hurt other parts of their body by self-treatment. For example, consumption of green tea may reduce the high blood-pressure, but it also stimulates fatty liver. Moreover, alternative remedies also can fail to cure some serious health problem, and worse, worsen the health condition. It is important to consider alternative remedies as a way for preventing diseases, not curing them. In conclusion, people should avoid self-treatment as it can come with severe consequences, such as the loss of time which is needed to adopt better treatment plans, hurting another part of their body without intention or worsening the illness. Experts are there to provide us with useful treatments, so it is neccessary to visit them when having a health condition.