The world of work is changing rapidly and employees cannot depend on having the same job or the same working conditions for life. Discuss the possible causes for this rapid change, and suggest ways of preparing people for the world of work in the future. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The common belief holds that the work environment is changing at a rapid pace and employees are not guaranteed to have the same job throughout their lives. This essay considers that this rapid change can be because of the advent of technology, such as artificial intelligence, and that humanity will be required to obtain the ability to think critically and to communicate with others. The rapid change in working environments can be attributed to technological advancement. For example, an increasing number of companies have introduced artificial intelligence to automate monotonous work and to raise work efficiency for the past decade. This application of artificial intelligence is, however, said to have deprived people of their jobs. It is also pointed out that technology has enabled us to interact with foreign people. Due to the fact that the internet has become accessible to anyone, a number of companies have started to advertise and promote their products globally. This change has created jobs that were not necessitated before the technological development. Hence, the rapid change in how people work can be considered to have stemmed from technological advancement. Given these possible causes, people will need to acquire skills that technology cannot replace with themselves. One way would be to learn how to think critically. There is an argument worldwide, that although computers excel at calculating figures and processing multi-tasks, they have difficulty in evaluating the authenticity of the information. If workers gain such evaluative skills, their roles will not be undervalued in the future. Furthermore, communication is yet another area which technology cannot handle. Because communication necessitates standing on the opponent's stance to reach a satisfying conclusion, employees should be advised to play a role in this regard in the future world of work. In conclusion, technological advancement is the key cause of the rapid change in working environments. Considering this fact, it is evident that people should prepare for future jobs by gaining critical thinking and communication skills.