More and more citizens relying on private cars as their major means of transportation. Describe some of the problem overreliances on cars can cause, and suggest at least one possible solution.

Nowadays, car is becoming one of the most popular types of transportion in many parts of the world. This essay covers the problems that might occur as the number of cars keeps growing, as well as the possible solution to this issue. One of the most significant problems due to the rising number of car ownership is the increase in traffic. The more cars are used by every individual, the less space there will be on the road which leads to crowding and long traffic. Moreover, traffic often causes stress to most people and if this continues for a long time it will affect one's mental health condition. On top of that, the stress from traffic might also bother one's performance at work or school. For example, Indonesia is known as a car -centric country where one person can purchase multiple vehicles since there are no strict regulation about this matter. As a consequence, the number of car users keeps increasing and the traffic has become a common thing during rush hour. The most realistic solution to this phenomenon is for the goverment to make a strict regulation regarding car ownership and every citizen must fulfill the necessary conditions of having a car such as having garage to park the car. They should also make policies regarding the finance as a vast majority of people buy a car with installments. For instance, the government in Singapore created a regulation for car ownership where the citizens can only own a car for 10 years, after the period ends they must report that the car has been sold to other parties or they will receive penalty. As a result, not only this regulation stops the overreliance on cars, but also reduces the traffic as Singaporeans have no choice than taking public transportation. To conclude, the overreliance of cars in some countries can lead to the increase of traffic which might affect individual's wellbeing and the solution is in the hand of the government to create strict regulation to control car purchases in the country.