Some people believe that university students should be required to attend classes. Others believe that going to classes should be optional for students. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

One of the most controversial topics in education at tertiary institutions today relates to whether students are forced to attend classes or not. This essay will discuss both views and describe the reasons why I am inclined to believe that it should be obligatory for them to be present at classes. On one side of the argument, there are some individuals who claim that university students should be obliged to turn up to classes for several reasons. The primary one is that they can learn professor's firsthand experiences and the latest evidence along with essential knowledge written in textbooks. Conversely, if they study subjects with recourse to only textbooks, they will not be able to catch up with the newest discoveries. Additionally, universities should take responsibility for following their students ' academic performance at classes. If they do not, some students tend to cram only for exams without broadening their perspectives on their specialty. On the other hand, others argue that it should remain at student's discretion whether they attend classes or not. As tertiary education is not compulsory, students should be allowed to skip classes as long as they pass exams. Another justification is that as they come of age, they should be responsible for their own behaviors. Thus, it should not be demanded for them to show up at classes.  In conclusion, both opinions are rational. On balance, however, I tend to support the former view because it will be of benefit for students to attend classes. They will be fascinated in professor's stories, which sometimes bring invaluable impacts on them. Furthermore, if they study at classes, they will have more understanding of their subjects than learning them alone.