Write about the following topic: Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Today, social media platforms serve as the main means of advertisements. There are many psychological reasons behind this. We have to consider the amount of time certain groups of people spend their time on social media. Due to early exposure to internet, younger generations have a tendency to waste most of their time on social media. Additionally, young people react to trends more as compared to older people, mainly because their fear of missing out. Therefore, popular consumer goods will be easily sold to people who do not want to miss out trendy things as advertised on social media. For instance, a viral video of sole protectors which are in most cases, unnecessary items or not the real needs of the society. However, people on social media unexpectedly react positively to these kind of unnecessary stuffs. Hence, people will buy this for the sake of the trends. There are already many victims of this advertising strategy. People find themselves buying things just because they see a lot of people using them. Additionally, people also have a tendency to purchase things that they want instead of things that they actually need. This proves the power of advertising in influencing people to spend their money on these popular goods. In conclusion, it is recommended as a society to have some self-control or not getting easily swayed by trending goods. People need to start focusing on the real needs because it will be likely that if society keeps letting this happen, it will be taken advantages of.