Most of the world’s poor live in countries where tourism is a growing industry. The issue is that tourism does not benefit the poorest. How can the income generated by tourism benefit the poor? And how can we ensure that tourism does not destroy traditional cultures and ways of life? Discuss.

In some parts of the world, although people reside in countries where the tourism industry is rapidly growing, it does not contribute to the low-income earners. However, there are numerous ways to generate income for locals, as well as preserve traditional cultures and ways of life from tourism. This essay will discuss these opportunities and strategies. To commence, myriad efforts can be implemented to achieve economic prosperity for marginal people from the tourism industry. Firstly, government or businesses can employ low-income earners for hospitality roles within the tourism industry, such as in hotels or resorts. Consequently, such actions can broaden job opportunities and enhance the income of low-income earners, fostering local economic growth. Additionally, the government can also support locals to engage in business in the surrounding tourism destinations, as they can easily attract visitors as potential consumers. For instance, the government can provide economic incentives for locals to open businesses that sell traditional souvenirs and gifts. On the other hand, there are several effective ways to preserve traditional cultures and ways of life. One pivotal action by the government is to promulgate policies that protect cultural sites and practices. For example, governments can limit the number of visitors to highly respected cultural areas, thereby mitigating the over-commercialization of sacred places. Moreover, local communities, in collaboration with the government can promote campaigns to educate tourists about local customs and traditions. As a result, this effort can elevate respect and appreciation for the local way of life as well as prevent cultural extinction. To sum up, while employing locals and providing economic assistance can boost local revenue from the tourism industry, enacting policies that safeguard cultural sites and promote local customs are indispensable to preserving traditional culture. Through these efforts, I believe we can pave the way for more sustainable tourism practices.