Some people think that secondary school students should study international news as one of their subjects, while others believe that this is a waste of valuable school time. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is a growing debate about whether students in secondary school should study international news as one of their courses. There are contrasting opinions on this issue. Some individuals claim that such a subject is so valuable, whereas others argue that it is a total waste of studying hours. This essay will discuss both perspectives and explain why I personally consider that it would be a positive addition in the curriculum of secondary school students. On the one hand, many people support the idea that secondary students should study international news at school. They have come to this conclusion primarily because plenty of individuals nowadays do not have knowledge about what is happening outside their country. Therefore, they believe that if there was a subject in school about global news, this issue would be minimized in the future. The reason for this is because students will have already been updated in order to get good grades or pass the course. On the other hand, others argue that this addition will cost valuable school hours for students. Furthermore, in order to add a new subject to the curriculum, some others must be removed or the hours of plenty of courses must be decreased. Consequently, this addition will come at the cost of other more significant subjects which will be either removed entirely or decreased in hours. In other words, their belief is that the secondary school curriculum has already been extremely pressed and any course additions are not possible. All in all, while some people claim that it is necessary for secondary schools to have a subject about global news, others support that this would come at the cost of more important courses. From my perspective, I think that both sides have valid points, but it seems to me that the benefit of students being updated about international developments outweighs the drawback of some subjects being decreased in hours.