It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Many people of the younger generation nowadays choose to take a gap year before starting university. One of the big advantages of this is taking time out to think wisely about what they would like to study. However, taking a year between high school and university has a drawback, namely losing motivation to start their studies. To begin with, it is important for college students to make the right choice of where to finish their studies. This means that students need more time to check different universities, programs and international possibilities. Due to the amount of time this will cost, it is easier for students to take a gap year to make their choice. In the Netherlands, for instance, approximately 25% of high school graduates took a gap year in 2022, because they were unable to make a choice in which major they would like to enrol in. Furthermore, many graduates did apply to their dream school but got rejected. Therefore, this group prefers to redo the entrance test in the following year instead of wasting money and time on another major. Nevertheless, there are disadvantages to taking a gap year because students may not get into their dream school again and lose their motivation to pursue it. Moreover, graduates choose to start a job so they can manage the financial challenges that colleges bring. After that, they find it easier to stay working rather than studying. Studies have shown that losing motivation during a gap year is a common negative effect among this group and therefore, a big threat to them pursuing college. In conclusion, it is of paramount importance to be aware of both the advantages and the disadvantages of a gap year. Making the right choice of college is necessary, but it should not end with the younger generation not following their studies due to lack of motivation.