In the past, most working people had only one job. However, nowadays, more and more people have more than one job at the same time. What are the reasons for this development? What are the advantages and disadvantages of having more than one job?

In old times, where people mostly preferred to have one job, nowadays, an increasing number of people are interested in more than one job. Apparently, the main causes behind this view are increased requirements of facilities and decreased wage rates. Although the trend has advantages in terms of financial stability and new experiences, it has disadvantages related to stressful life and answerability. To begin with, an extended list of essential facilities at home is one of the major causes behind why individuals are more inclined towards multiple jobs. For epitome, children's education, travelling expenses, and the safety of family require a huge amount of money so they have to join multiple professions to fulfil the requirement. However, these expenses were negligible in the old era. In addition, the low salary amount can be another reason as the competition is high in the market so employers pay less wages to workers. Hence, they have no choice except to work in two or more companies concomitantly. Even though this approach brings a number of benefits, financial stability is the most prominent. For instance, the World Trade Organisation published in the annual report for 2023 that 6 out of 10 people had been experiencing fewer financial issues since they started doing two jobs simultaneously. Moreover, they may also be exposed to new technologies from other working places which assist them to upgrade their skill for implementing a smart work technique. Besides these benefits, the negative ramifications of this phenomenon can never be undermined. Primarily, after joining jobs at two places, employees may become more answerable. For example, Mr John Satergies, a famous psychologist, elucidated in his interview on BBC News in the UK that the populous with more than one job are most likely to feel more stressed as they are answerable to two or more companies. Additionally, they have to remember all the tasks assigned to them by different companies which can cause depression if anything goes wrong. To conclude, it can be seen that the number of individuals having two or more jobs is increasing day by day in comparison to the past when people were satisfied with a single job in order to deal with family needs and low wage rates. Nevertheless, this multiple- job preference has both merits and demerits.