I n many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing Do you think this is a positive or a negative development.

Emigrating to cities from rural areas has been a controversial issue whether diminishing population in rural places is positive aspect or not. This phenomenon can be regarded as both favorable and unfavorable and it would be discussed throughout the essay. My opinion will be reflected the latter. Moving to cities from rural areas is of paramount importance for people to attain higher opportunities. For example, a student who dwells in a village might go to urban place for education purposes. In cities, he or she is more likely to go better universities that have distinguished professors who have a great expertise in their domain. That is, universities located in big cities give better education to their students. Also, an employee from rural place might go to metropolis so as to find well -paid jobs, offering them to sustain better living standards and pursue career opportunities. Moreover, opportunities in cities are not only constrained with education and work prospects but also contain better health provisions, allowing people to achieve specialized hospitals with cutting-edge technologies and specialized doctors who have graduated from distinctive faculties. By product of this, people may remain healthy by emigration to big cities. On the other hand, decreasing population in rural areas can be detrimental for the local economy and it could lead to some severe problems in big cities. For instance, if people abandon their villages, the amount of food produced in agriculture is going to decrease to a great extent, as farmers will no longer exist in rural areas. Therefore, this results in disruptions in the local economy. Furthermore, an increasing population in cities can cause challenges, including traffic congestion which means that more people are going to use public transport. In addition, resources in cities won’t be enough for all people due to emigration and some will tend to commit crimes due to scarcity of them. In my view, although cities enhance the quality of people ’s lives in terms of offering substantial amount of opportunities, it also poses a menace because of the high population. What should be done to find a balance is to support rural areas. More investments should be made to rural areas in order to persuade people for living in these places. Bearing in mind the aforementioned points, we can draw the conclusion that emigrating to big cities has both advantages and drawbacks. While cities offer greater standards, rural areas are as vital as cities since they are the determining factor of local economy. A balanced population in both cities and villages might be more useful in order to address potential challenges and provide long term development.