Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones in communication has negative effects on young people’s reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The upward trend of digital devices‘ utilization is believed to inflict various negative effects on teenager’s comprehension and literacy proficiency. From a personal perspective, I’ve come to a partial agreement with this assertion. On the one hand, the advancement of digitalization has brought about multiple negative effects for their physical well-being. For example, the long term usage of a smartphone or computer to read or write documents has been proven to be harmful for both the eyes and mind. Scientists say that using smart devices emits blue light - a harmful ray which is the leading cause of visual impairment. Physical deviation is not the only damaging effect but technology also creates neurological deviation and inferiority towards an individual’s literacy skill. Teenagers nowadays bear a tendency to exploit and abuse Artificial Intelligence to complete assignments for them, thus disabling them from making use of their own imaginations and thoughts, therefore dulling their skills overtime. Moreover, the built-in dictation feature occasionally prevents a student from memorizing recently learned vocabulary as they frequently fail to pay careful attention to their mistakes and learn from it. A common example that can be seen occurring to multiple students nowadays is how they always refer to AI to write essays for them. This not only prevents them from thinking dependently but also disables them from actually utilizing the things they’ve learnt within educational facilities. Consequently, they are bound to attain low grades during a practical examination. On the other hand, proper exploitation of these technologies will aid a learner tremendously in their skills growth. As we perceive the reading aspect, one can deduct that digital devices are easy to bring and possess a great capacity of reading materials. Some applications also aid students by helping them keep track of their progress and providing a definition of words that can’t be comprehended. Take Kindle for example, a renowned application for reading, equipped with millions of books to choose from and convenient built-in features to create a pleasant and optimized reading experience. As for writing development, if properly utilized, Artificial Intelligence can support students in constructing ideas while also giving them guidance to immaculate structurization - the foundation of a refined exposition. Moreover, there are applications with the ability to enhance an individual’s expertise. A good application to make an example of is Grammarly, an extension that many students install to have it correct their mistakes and suggest better methods to convey their ideas in a structured manner. To sum everything up, although applying technology into reading and writing have its own negative effects, I am in the belief that the advantages they provide far surpasses the aforementioned downsides as long as the students maintain a balanced usage of their own skills and technological assistance to create an optimized learning experience.