In the last decade, there has been a great increase in global air travel. What do you think are the reasons for this and do you think it is a good thing? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Over the last few years the number of air passengers has increased dramatically. There are a number of reasons for this increase but also some benefits. However, it has also caused some problems with regards to the environment. There are three main reasons for the growth in air travel and they are reduced costs, more convenient and an improved network. About the cost, there are now many buget airlines offering low cost flights. This has meant that other airlines lowered their fares in order to competition. Also people are now able to book their own flights online instead of through a travel agent, ensures that they get the best price. Finally there are more international airports than ever before. This means that it is much easier to travel than it was use to be. Generally, these changes have been mostly positive for people. Air travel is no longer only for the rich people and more people have been offered the chance to experience new cultures and experience new things. Additionally, more families are able to travel abroad for holidays than in the past. Despite these benefits for people, air travel has had a negative influence on the environment. This is mostly because air fuel produces a large number of greenhouse gasses which in turn cause climate change. In conclusion, it is evident that there are a number of reasons for the increase in air travel and that this rise has been largely beneficial on an individual level. However, the environmental impact of air travel needs careful consideration.