People are living in a “throwaway society”, using things for a short time and then throwing them away. What are the causes of this? What problems does it lead to?

Nowadays, people are valuing belongings less, using them for a short period of time then trashing them. This is a result of their upbringing and products not being made to last a very long time. Throwing items away like this increases the amount of trash on our planet leading to numerous of problems. To begin with, in recent generations, people have been raised differently from the past. They are given what they want easily making them value belongings less. For example, a child who is given a new pencil every day will not care if they lose the pencil. Contradictorily, if they are given a pencil to use once a year, they will take extremely good care of it. Moreover, companies are starting to make their products less durable and sustainable to increase sales and profits. To put in perspective, if a product lasts a lifetime, customers will not have to purchase a new one. For instance, phones are now being made with less durabily durable than before. Old models like the Samsung Hero, could survive being thrown down multiple flights of stairs, but newer phones can break with just a fall from a table. The more things being thrown away the more trash there is on our earth. Having an enormous amount of garbage is a waste of space and can harm the environment. To remove trash, we have to burn them. The burning of trash emits green house gases, such as carbon dioxide to the atmosphere, which leads to global warming. The increase of heat is a potential health hazard and has been an issue for us humans for centuries, this is only making the situation worse. In conclusion, the upbringing people are causing them to value things less, resulting in more trash on our planet. The process of removing trash requires burning, consequently polluting the world with harmful gases that contribute to global warming.