With the latest technological advancements, dating is now possible online. What are advantages and disavantages about this phenomenon?

Nowadays, online dating has become more popular due to the development of technology. This essay discusses the benefits and drawbacks of utilizing applications to meet partners online. There are two main benefits of finding lovers via social media. First, the accessibility provided by the gadget can be the main advantage as it will assist them to meet easily, utilizing the screen that shows the video of their partners, without spending hours going outside. Moreover, this scheme can cut transportation costs since both spouses do not need to make appointments offline in a place. For example, some of Indonesian have to do long-distance relationships across the continents becuase they should pursue their educations in Europe. Using this technology, they can communicate with their girlfriends or boyfriends through a video call to see their faces or by telephone to listen to their voices. However, there are also drawbacks caused by this trend. The thing that happens the most is fraud. By the reason of high accessibility, the fraudster can have access to scam their victims through online dating more easily than offline. Another reason is for some people, it leads to a bad relationship called ghosting, where one of them tries to leave the other without explanation. It happens because of the block feature which people can stop their followers from opening their profiles. To illustrate, if someone has an online boyfriend, it is easier for them to leave since the girl does not have the exact information about where he lives to ask him about the clarity of their relationship. In conclusion, online dating can give benefits because of the accessibility and the lower cost spending for meetings. However, it can lead the disadvantages as it can cause fraud and ghosting.