Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. why is this case? is it a positive or negative development?

Some children use smartphones for hours each day. This phenomenon stems from several reasons, and while these appliances can benefit children, I am of the opinion that their downturns outweigh their advantages. Children might use smartphones and other technological appliances both for academic and recreational purposes. Back in the day, children had to attend libraries to search for materials, whereas nowadays, they can type their questions right into the World Wide Web and get access to numerous articles and materials. This convenience offered by the internet has replaced the conventional methods of study, ultimately necessitating students to spend hours on mobile phones and laptops in order to prepare their papers and homework. Moreover, social media has been designed based on calculated algorithms, which can be altered based on one's interest. These patterns acknowledge one's priorities and provide relative materials for them. In other terms, they let individuals enjoy their preferred material and get the adrenaline rush in the easiest manner. Consequently, children choose surfing and playing on the mobile phone as their primary pastime because these appliances provide the thrill they seek straight away. Smartphones can hurt children both in terms of over usage and social hazards. The captivating nature of these appliances urges children to spend countless hours in a sedentary position. This inadvertently prevents children from physical activities and triggers the potential risk of obesity. Additionally, the falsified belief of stretched communication through social media deceives children into using these platforms to find friends. Firstly, this phenomenon makes them susceptible to abusers. Young children might post pictures of themselves; by this practice, they give personal information to those who might use this information to intrude on their devices and use their personal pictures and data for extortion or sexual abuse. Secondly, through a futile search on social media to find virtual friends, children lose the chance to interact with their peers and cement meaningful relationships. In conclusion, The alluring nature and convenience of mobile phones have captivated children; however, technological appliances are particularly dangerous for children,and their usage should be hindered.