Tourism is one of the fastest growing industries and contributes a great deal to economics around the world.However, the damage tourism can cause to local cultures and environment is often ignored. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many individuals claim that although the tourist industry is one of the most burgeoning fields and brings positive economical consequences, its negative influences on indigenous cultures and environment are minimally evaluated. In this essay, I elaborate on the reasons why I totally advocate this view.  The first reason why I believe negative effects on local cultures by tourism are disregarded is that a number of traditions across the world are becoming more commercialized. For instance, rituals to pray gods, which used to be isolated to foreigners and held seasonally, are taking place every day to attract tourists in various parts of the world. Regarding performers of ceremonies, they are hired and involved as a part of show business. This phenomenon causes to impair the understandings of ceremonies and their own cultures.  Another justification for my view is that tourism is inclined to be prioritised over its drawbacks to the environment. Taking Bali, a beuatiful island in Indonesia, as an example, many hotels and restaurants are constructed on the seafront to accommodate visitors. Although they have attained great economical success by doing so, they are also facing severe air and water pollutions. Despite these looming threats, the authorities still hesitate to take stringent precautions in fear of losing business opportunities.  In conclusion, I vehemently agree with the opinion that while tourism is beneficial economically, it is also disadvantageous in terms of preserving local cultures and nature and concerns over them are seldom considered. Now that negative aspects of tourism are well recognised, sustainable exploitation from cultural and environmental points of view should be incorporated.