Many old buildings protected by law are part of nation’ s history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by new ones. Do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, the government is still guaranteeing the existence of old-fashioned structures while some parts of the community are considering building some new ones instead. My essay will point out some arguments about this problem. First of all, destroying old buildings which are not really useless is not a completely right decision. They play an important role in containing lots of historical values and act like a cultural keeper in a particular area. Some antiquated buildings in modern cities are seemed as evidence of urbanization that we can see the difference of a city before and after advancements. However, remaining old structures have some drawbacks. Citizens who live in those will deal with unqualified facilities. The infrastructure has been constructed for a long time so the frequency of problems occurrences is higher than modern ones. For example, the elevator systems are old and not large enough that lead to the limit in delivery. Moreover, in another aspect, antique buildings also have some financial benefits. Buildings with special architecture which contain features of a certain period can be used as an attraction. In Italy, many policies were released to conserve ingenious architecture in order to earn money from tourists who visit there. Contrastingly, the more buildings remain, the more money will be spent. Every year, the government pays a big amount of funds which can raise up to over one million dollars per year for repairing and maintaining their heritage. In conclusion, continuing use or discarding old buildings have both pros and cons. Therefore, every decision had better be based on practical situations in certain areas before being published to the community.