Some people today prefer to get advice for medical problems from the internet and do not want to visit a doctor. Why is this? Is this a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, 90% of the world population rely on the internet to research on their medical needs. Majority of the people self-medicate instead of visiting a physician to check on them and to get proper medication. Most of these people will argue that this is a faster and cheaper way to address their health concerns. However, this way of addressing medical concerns has more negative impacts than positive. The internet made it possible for people to research on a lot of things making it a modern encyclopedia. In the US, 2 out of 10 adults rely on the internet to search for medication that they need to take whenever they are not feeling well, instead of going to clinics where they can be properly diagnosed. Their reasons: it saves time and it is cheaper. While it is true that the internet can help a person in solving their health problems, this can pose more harm than good. Jessica Santos, a 41-year old teacher, self-medicated when she felt a severe pain in her stomach. She concluded, based on what she saw in the internet, that the pain she was sufering from was only related to hyperacidity. Hence, she only took antacids. Later on, it was found that she has an early stage colon cancer. In conclusion, there is no harm in using the internet as a guide to answer a person's health-related questions. The internet is a tool that anyone can use, but it has its limits. In terms of a person's medical needs, the best way to solve any problems is still the traditional visit to a physician.