These days, mobile phones and the internet are very important to the ways in which people relate to one another socially. Do the advantage of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Although electronic devices such as smart phones and the internet allow contemporary people to connect with society more easily and strongly, they also brings them drawbacks. In this essay, I elaborate on the reasons why I strongly believe that the merits of online communication far prevail over its demerits. On the one hand, the primary reason why I think online communication is advantageous is that individuals can keep in touch with each other more easily. Before the advent of the internet and portable devices, they had to call or write to each other to maintain contacts and they sometimes felt it difficult. However, today, they can communicate without an extra effort by sending e-mails and posting something on social media and maintain social relationships. Another benefit of the online interaction is that they can share information in more ways. For example, while some users share their emotions with Emoji instead of liguistic methods, others post videos of what they experienced. Furthermore, when they want to spread their information in public, they just post it on social media. It was unconceivable without the development of the communication technology. However, this online technology is not always beneficial. For instance, once confidential information or vulgar contents are posted in the internet, it is almost impossible to delete them from the cyber world. As a result, they are likely to be involved in crimes or be stigmatized for long. Hence, internet users should pay more attention to their contents before they post them. In conclusion, despite drawbacks including the risk of being involved in crimes and becoming notrious due to contents they posted, I vehemently believe that online communication is still advantageous to present citizens because they can maintain contacts with more ease and in more methods.