Some people think that the best way to reduce crimes is to apply longer prison sentences, other people think that there are better methods of doing so. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Most people consider extended lock-up periods results in lower crime rate. While, some think there are better alternatives to reduce crimes. Although, longer sentencing for a crime is one way to go, I believe there are other ways to cope up with felonies like improving rehabiliation facilities, providing more job opportunies, etc. Firstly, locking up a criminal and constraining him/her within the space of four walls would not bring any changes for however long they are sentenced. For instance, a prisoner will never be able to understand the gravity of the situtaion that has got him in that position if they are locked up for a long time. It would be easy to forget the offence commited and make one feel less guilty after being locked-up for a long time. In other words, spending excessive amount of time in prison would make one comfortable to continue living the same boredom life. Although, with better facilities such as rehabiliation, jobs or continous montioring of ex-convicts is also a effective way of keeping crime at bay. For example, in prison counseling is an effective way in making a person realise his guilt or what pushed him into making wrong decisions in the first place or better job availabilty at the end of their prison term. Effective motivational talks and job opportunities are key factors that would help reduce crimes and have a new perspective into life. To summarise, there are better ways to cope with crime rather than being locked up for longer periods. In my opinion, longer lock up periods are ineffective and looking for better alternatives and teaching humane values is a better way to reduce crime.