Some students take a year off studying between finishing school and going to university in order to travel or to work. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Although a majority of students continue their academic career after graduating from high school, some young adults choose to take a year leave before enrolling in university to travel or to work. In this essay, I elaborate on the reasons why I believe this phenomenon brings more benefits than drawbacks.  The first reason why I think leaving an academic institution temporarily before university is beneficial is that they can expand their perspectives by traveling and experiencing different cultures. For example, if they cannot find any interesting profession they want to do in the future before their graduation, traveling is one of possible ways to broaden their horizons. Then, once they find one, it is not too late to go to university for further study. Another justification for my view is that they can assess their intriguing work if they are intersted in it but are not sure if it is appropriate for them. A good illustration is volunteering in a hospital if they are fascinated by nurses and doctors. By observing healthcare workers closely, they will have a procise understanding of these vocations, and they will be able to be confident in their decisions when choosing to study at university. However, there are some drawbacks to this temporary leave from academic pathway. One significant demerit is that it is likely to spoil this year if they do not maintain their objectives. In fact, some young adults keep traveling for years without goals. Furthermore, it will be difficult for them to return to a nomal life afterwards. In conclusion, having a gap year is becoming more popular. I reiterate that its advantages including expanding horizons and evaluating their interesting work before proceeding academic career far prevail over the disadvanages such as the possibility of spending a year without a purpose.