Some young people look forward to a year of travelling, a 'gap year', before they begin work or university and see it as a chance to broaden their horizons. For others this is an expensive waste of time. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A gap year, is a year of travelling before graduates start taking a higher education at college, or going to work. It is so popular in this era that many students take it to enhance their experience and knowledge before they go to university, but some other students don’t take it because they think it is just wasting time. Nevertheless, I would say that taking a year off is not a rewarding activity for students for some reasons that are set out below. People think that taking a break for a year helps them find their interests so that they don’t take the wrong course at university. I would argue that some students take it just to have fun, play and take a rest from studying. Factually, students can find their interests when they are in junior or senior high school. For example, at school there are some extracurricular activities that students can join and from that, they can find out what their interests are, and it can help them take the major they want to take at college. In addition, students who do it might still take the wrong course so their gap year is just a waste of time. People take a hiatus to learn a culture or language in another country. In my view, they can learn it at university by making friends with people from other countries or taking a student exchange program at university. Besides that, they can learn it from some online courses and social media too. Moreover, going to another country doesn’t mean that people can learn their customs or language, they might just want to travel, hang out or have a leisure time. In summary, taking a gap year is not rewarding for students, although they take it to study other languages and cultures, actually it just makes them lazier by leisuring when they are there. Besides that, it does not really help students to find interests and pick the right course because there are still students who pick the wrong course after taking it.